Love is in the Air

13 Feb

Image

As I sit by the wood stove crafting valentines under deadline with my kids, I can’t help but feel the warmth and joy this whole month brings still in the midst of frost and snowstorms. It is a time to share our feelings and to show them off, really. And in that spirit of giving (and receiving!) I’m reminded of the endless beauty in the handmade, one-of-a-kind pieces I’ve found at the artisans’ booths at our shows. Crafted with care, gifts like the kind you happen upon at Festival Fete are a unique way to express your love, gratitude, admiration or desire. 

So while we patiently await our first event of 2014 at the end of June in downtown Newport, RI on scenic, historic Bowen’s Wharf, remember that many of our vendors can be found in the off-season at their online storefronts. And quite a few can be conveniently perused at once on Etsy.com, our favorite one-stop shop online for handmade, vintage and authentic finds.

We are still talking about the last show at Rhodes and how we ogled the uber earthy creations of Sasha Walsh, how we just lingered at Maji Jewelry and stood amazed by the delicate beauty of Mermaid’s Baubles newest pieces. I’m sure I added something to my wish list with every pass by!

Image

Cherry Valley Herb Farm Assorted Teas

Wishing something sweet for my mother, I called Dina just today at To The Queen’s Taste. Her whoopee pies at the last show were outrageously good. She is happily still taking orders and recommends shipping her coconut macaroons or her classic Eccles cakes, made so decadent with cinnamon, raisins, brown sugar and a honey glaze. Any of her creations would be a welcome treat to come home to. Pair with a loose tea from Cherry Valley Herb Farm and you’ve just warmed the heart, home (and belly!) of a loved one even if you can’t be near.

The list of awesome festival followers goes on… and on….Any ideas handmade from your heart this year? Let us know, we’d love to hear back. For now, stay tuned and stay warm!

Image

Maji Jewelry’s Fossilized Gold Dipped Shark Tooth

Image

Sasha Walsh

4 Responses to “Love is in the Air”

  1. rockpapersnips February 13, 2014 at 10:04 am #

    Jen Daly is this your voice in this post? Lovely!

    • lifesafestival February 13, 2014 at 10:18 pm #

      Hi and thanks for the compliment! Jen is lovely, but this is Cara. I am Pilar’s good friend and blogging companion. Look forward to more posts and I’m sure we’ll see you at the festivals.

  2. Danielle Salisbury February 13, 2014 at 10:58 am #

    Hi Jen and Pilar!

    Great post! I wanted to let you know that Jennifer Neuguth’s mug shot comes up as the gravatar for Lifesfestival, so it looks like she wrote it.

    I wanted to ask if you would be willing to post a note from me about the fact that I am not writing for the blog anymore? I made some nice connections with the artists and friends that followed my posts and I would just like to let them know, and if possible provide my email and personal blog address.

    Let me know if this would be okay and if you want me to send my message to you in a word doc or draft it right in WordPress.

    Thanks!!

    Danielle

    • lifesafestival February 13, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

      Hi Danielle! Thanks for reading. This is Cara and I’ll be working with Pilar here on the blog. I do believe I successfully changed the accompanying photo for starters but I’ve got plenty of questions for you. Let’s connect so we can forward your readers to the right place…

Leave a Reply

