Featured Artist: Raelinda Woad, Storyteller Creations

7 May

Raelinda Woad is an imaginative storyteller turned jewelry maker and she’s got a pretty interesting story to tell.

WoadStorytelling

For the past twenty years she has been captivating audiences at coffee houses throughout New England with her “True Stories that Haven’t Quite Happened Yet”. Unfortunately, gifted storytelling doesn’t necessarily pay the rent so she needed to come up with a business…and here is how she began making tiny little books as jewelry with her stories tucked inside.

WoadBookNecklace

“I started my jewelry business as a storyteller. Back in the 90’s, I was a coffeehouse storyteller, often booked as the opening act for folk musicians. I noticed that at the end of their sets the musicians would announce that they had cassette tapes of their music for sale. I needed something to sell and since I also worked for two different jewelry companies I used my jewelry skills to create a line of miniature book-shaped pins with my own stories folded inside them.”

Woad_BookPin_Closed

“At the end of my sets I would pull out a tray of my Storybook Pins and say, “If you liked hearing my stories, you might like wearing my stories….” Apparently it was a slow year for news because I started getting a lot of press for my tiny books. Stores began calling me and…suddenly I had my own jewelry business.”

WoadBookPin

“Fast forward to today. I’ve come full circle and returned to my beloved storytelling. I’ve just published a book about cupcake fairies. (Do not underestimate the power of these tiniest of all fairies!)”

WoadBook

And I’ve created a comedy book trailer that can be viewed on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKhdmo_CrIQ

Woad_Book Trailer Promo

The cupcakes that appear in this video are all professionally trained stunt-cupcakes. No actual cupcakes were harmed.

WoadEarrings

Raelinda also makes earrings and other fairy inspired jewelry. You can read more about her story and shop on Etsy (she’s very funny!), or meet her in person at Festival Fete’s Garden City Art Festival on June 8th & 9th from 10am – 5pm daily.

Garden City Art Festival 2013

Garden City Art Festival 2013

Many thanks to our Garden City Art Festival sponsor:

Natural Awakenings

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,189 other followers

